Colour, colour!

Spring - Summer 2011 makeup

Women world over know the secret to looking good is having on the perfect cosmetics which highlight your features and conceal all flaws. You might have a gorgeous outfit on but if your makeup goes for a toss, there is no saving you! I personally apply the least amount of makeup possible since I really don’t have the patience to spend more than 10 minutes on my face. However, it’s great to experiment once in a while with a new lip colour or a snazzy eye shadow shade. So I thought I’d bring to all you fine ladies makeup trends for this summer straight off the runway!

Bold lips

Just last night I went out clubbing with my lips painted bright red! I absolutely love red lipstick. It is bold, sexy and fearless. I received many a compliments and thoroughly enjoyed myself that night! The next thing I want to try is bright pink. Seems like fun! When experimenting with bright lipstick remember to keep your outfit a subtle colour or monochrome.

At Gucci - Jac.

At Marni - Kirsi Pyrhonen.

 

At Fendi - Abbey Lee Kershaw.

Bright eyes

Emphasize your beautiful doe eyes with bright eye shadow. It was all the rage at Christian Dior. Never match your eye shadow with your outfit. Go for another shade in the same colour family or go for a contrasting colour. Sweep a thin line of black liner and you are set to go!

At Derek Lam - Toni Garrn.


Christian Dior


Smokey!

This trend is definitely here to stay! It’s my personal favourite makeup trend and I think it looks great on everyone! It’s perfect for a night out with friends or a dinner date. Smokey doesn’t mean only black and grey; you can experiment with dark blue and silver too!

At John Galliano


At Giorgio Armani


Nude tones

The aim is to create flawless looking skin which looks completely natural and ‘un-made-up’! From Alexander McQueen to La Coste, Chloe to Versace, they just can’t get enough of the natural look!

At Versace - Joan Smalls.


At Chloé - Anabela Belikova.


At Alexander McQueen - Marike Le Roux.


Apart from these trends some of my must – haves for the summer include a bronzer to highlight your bone structure and give you a summer glow, a blush for the rosy hue on the apples of your cheek, mascara for you to have never – ending, dramatic lashes [Who doesn’t love those!] and a good concealer which matches perfectly with your skin tone. Be careful to not go over the top with your makeup though. Remember its either eyes or lips, never both! Here are zome of my favourite products, each one under Rs. 500! Yay!

Mac Mascara

Lakme Cheek Artist

Maybelline Dream Mousse Bronzer

Hope this article gave you an insight into what’s hot for the summer and also fun, innovative ideas to do something different with your make up brush!

Would love to know your experiences and what you tried out!

Xx

Rhea

8 thoughts on “Colour, colour!

  1. Hey I need some personal tips on make up too. When can you share them with me? You need to be here to show me…Love yaa!!

Leave a Reply

