Monsoon Mayhem

Urghh! It’s the season I hate the most… Sorry for starting this post on such a bad note, especially for all you monsoon lovers out there. But I have positively detested the rains from day one, I can’t stand it, can’t handle it and definitely cannot enjoy it. In this season all I want to do is cuddle up in a blanket with a good book or watch television. I wish I could just stay cooped up at home, but there are a gazillion things to do and lazing around at home for two months just remains an eternal fantasy. 

Because I am so irritable during the rains, I make sure that I am armed with the essentials to help me get past this horror. Looking like a homeless person (monsoons have that effect on most people) only gets my bad mood in overdrive so I make sure I look my stylish best. So what if I feel like crap… at least I look good. 😉

An umbrella is the single most essential thing. Mark my words carry it EVERYDAY from today onwards. Don’t be fooled by how sunny it is, they are just out there to get you at your weakest moment, so be armed! I love the oversized umbrella with the handle that you need to carry around like a walking stick. I think they look really trendy and they are the one thing that will keep you closest to being dry in the season. Take your pick from floral prints, checks (Channel the Lady Gaga within you ;)), polka dots, stripes, graphic prints. Chose a bright colour or a neutral shade depending on what goes with your wardrobe. It’s not essential, but it would be nice if your umbrella could complement what you’re wearing.

Frilly Red Umbrella!

This is one season when you should go short with your clothes. There is nothing worse than having muck cover your jeans while you’re walking around. So go for short dresses, short shorts, capris, skirts, jumpsuits… anything above your knee. 

Bright shorts!

Short skirt with an over sized coat looks chic.

Simple black dress layered with a colourful cardigan.

Make sure your make up is water proof. Especially your eye liner. Trust me, you don’t want streams of black tears down your cheeks. So, see to it that your mascara, liner, kohl, lipstick are all water proof and smudge free. Here are my picks, all under 500!

Maybelline Mascara. Works like a dream.

I ❤ this liner!

Wearing white or a transparent fabric or a fabric which will become transparent when its wet is like calling for trouble. Imagine being stranded somewhere when it’s pouring and your outfit ain’t covering nothing, honey… That is just sad. So make sure you don’t get into a situation like that. Its going to be a little cooler soon so go ahead and layer your clothes. In this weather it’s always good to carry a jacket or a cardigan in case it gets too cold to handle.

A layered look.

Say bye, bye to all your metallic accessories, hot leather bags and pretty shoes for two months or so. Store them properly in airtight bags. Invest in some plastic or jelly accessories. Bright plastic beaded necklaces and stacked plastic bangles look cute and can complete an outfit. Make sure your shoes are water proof too. Jelly sandals are all the rage in the west, check them out and see if you like them.

Jelly Sandals

Beaded necklaces.

Plastic accessories. Rings, brooches, earrings, pretty hair pins you name it!

Stacked Chunky Bangles. Super hot!

That was my list of essentials and styling tips for the rains.

Hope they were useful.

For all those of you who can’t contain their joy that its raining, I won’t spoil your happiness. And for those of you who are like me, be prepared!

Happy splish sploshing!

xx

Rhea

One thought on “Monsoon Mayhem

  1. Reading your post I could very vividly imagine you in the rains. The tips given were really helpful to me…as I would be traveling to work at this distance for the first time in the rains. I will be more prepared for it.

Leave a Reply

