Fun with makeup!

I did a shoot with my friend Uma (one of my favourite upcoming photographers) a few days back. She wanted to create four different looks with makeup and hair. It was quite fun to shoot and I think each look can go really well with different people for different occasions. So I wanted to share it with all of you. Hope it gives you ideas for the next time you want to go out and are stuck in a style rut. 🙂

Photography and Make up: Uma Damle… And I helped with the eye liner of course because that is my area of expertise. (Haha)

1. The first look we went for was a simple, morning look. Something you would want to sport when you’re out for brunch with your friends or shopping or running an errand. Its just a really, really effortless, uncomplicated look. It hardly even needs much makeup. We used a bit of nude eye shadow and mascara, topped off the lips with dollops of gloss and a very slight hint of blush. I had just come out of a shower so my hair was naturally wet, but I think the wet hair look is very sexy with this makeup as it looks natural and easy.

Day Look

2. The second look we opted for was for a night out. Clubbing, partying or a nice dinner. Even though its for the night we didn’t make it too flashy, we kept it quite demure while still drawing emphasis to the best features. For the eyes we used tones of grey, silver and blue. We blended it in properly so that it didn’t look flaky or patchy. Mascara on the lashes, a matte pink lip colour and blush to contour the cheek bones completed the look. We decided to pull the hair back with a zig zag wire hair band to give prominence to the eyes and gave the hair a bit of volume . I think hair bands look chic and can be a change from just leaving your hair loose every time you go out. Do try it next time!

Night look

 3. For the third look Uma wanted to go really dramatic. (Girls love drama, don’t they?) The look was kind of Barbie – inspired. For the eyes we went really vivid with green and pink eye shadow and a think sweep of eyeliner on the upper lid. We finished off the eyes with kohl and lots and lots of mascara. The blush was pink too and so was the lipstick topped off with a ‘very’ glossy transparent gloss. Its quite a fun look. If you are not much of a risk taker to wear it all at once, pick one or two elements from the look. Maybe just the lips or just the eyes. We tied my hair in a loose side pony tail with a bright pink ribbon. Cute!

Drama!

 4. For the fourth look Uma took inspiration from the makeup done on Natalie Portman in Black Swan. We literally painted the whole upper lid with black liner! Contoured it with bright silver shadow. We painted the lips a bright shade of red and kept the skin tone a bit paler than my natural complexion. My hair was tied in a neat chignon (Ballerina style) and a jeweled hair band was added to give the effect of the crown that Natalie adorns. One can’t really wear this makeup in real life unless you are super gutsy! But I think I wold love to wear it for the next Halloween or costume party I go to.

Costume!

 Hope you enjoyed reading this post as much as I loved writing and working on it.

A big thank you to everyone who has been writing to me with queries and suggestions and adding your friends to read the blog! I love reading your feedback. Hope I can keep up the good work.

Do join the fan page.

Be versatile and experiment with your makeup! But for this season, don’t forget to invest in WATERPROOF products ONLY!!

xx

Rhea

Leave a Reply

